Mon Parliamentary Committee Chairs to Come from All Parties

  • Written by Hinthar Media
  • Published in Hinthar Media
Daw Tin Ei, the Mon State Hluttaw Speaker Daw Tin Ei, the Mon State Hluttaw Speaker

Daw Tin Ei, the Mon State Hluttaw (parliament) Speaker from the National League for Democracy (NLD) party said that members of parliament (MPs) from other parties would also be appointed as chairs of parliamentary committees.

She said: “We will appoint MPs from among all the elected MPs, including those from the NLD, to Mon State parliamentary committee positions. We [the NLD] will not just take all [the committee positions] because we have won.”

She also said that the NLD are working towards national reconciliation and that parliamentary committees would be formed after a Mon State Chief minister was appointed.

The new President of Myanmar, who has not yet been elected, will appoint the new Mon State Chief Minister.

There are several parliamentary committees, but at present it is not known what parliamentary committees will be formed and which areas they will cover.

Dr Aung Naing Oo, the Mon State MP for Chaungzon Township, from the All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP), said that in the previous Mon State Hluttaw there had been an Ethnic Affairs Committee; an MP Scrutiny Committee; a Bill Committee; a General Affairs Observation and Scrutiny Committee; and a Proposals and Laws Study Committee.

Dr Min Kyi Win from the Mon National Party (MNP) said of his party: “We will work together [with the other MPs] irrespective of who gets the positions of chairman and vice-chairman. It is important to include everyone in the formation of parliamentary committees.

In the November 2015 General Elections the NLD won 16 seats, the MNP won two seats and the AMDP and the Union Solidarity and Development Party won one seat each in the Mon State Hluttaw.

Translated by Thida Linn
Edited in English by Mark Inkey for BNI