Too late to include Matupi in upcoming by-election: UEC

  • Written by Chin World
  • Published in Chin World

After the death of its lawmaker in January, Matupi township constituency 1 will continue to lack political representation, as it is too late to add another race into the upcoming by-election, according to the Union Election Commission.

late U Hung Khen of National League for Democracy from Matupi TownshipHung Khen, a National League for Democracy representative, died of injuries sustained during a motorbike collision on January 6. The Chin State Hluttaw MP was treated at the Matupi Township Hospital and then transferred to the Mindat Hospital in Mandalay Region where he passed away.

“In Chin State, the by-election race will only include the Amyotha Hluttaw number 3 constituency. It will not take place in Matupi, which will have to be filled at a later time, in accordance with the law,” said U Tin Tun, secretary of the Union Election Commission (UEC).

“His accident took place after the [candidate] announcements were made for the 19 constituencies open for the April 1 by-election. There is not enough time to prepare [for the Matupi constituency] since by-election campaigning already began some time ago,” he added. “The process requires preparation for things like advertising, gathering the voter list and confirming the candidates.”  

The April 1 by-election will include 19 races across the country, including three openings in the Amyotha Hluttaw, 9 in the Pyithu Hluttaw and 7 in state and region legislatures.

The Amyotha Hluttaw 3 seat – Htantlang township – will be contested by three candidates: Pi Za Tlem, a former female MP who won a seat the 2010 election will represent the Chin National Democratic Party (CNDP) in the race, while Pu Bawi Khing will run for the National League for Democracy (NLD), and Pu Zo Peng will contest the spot for the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP).

The vacant seat was won in 2015 by Henry Van Thio, and became vacant after he assumed the role of vice president 2.

In 2010, the CNDP (formerly known as the Chin National Party) won all 4 constituencies in Htantlang township. In 2015, the NLD and the USDP split the township, taking 2 seats each.

Translated by Aong Jaeneh
Edited by Laignee Barron for BNI