Low Turnout In Ye Township

  • Written by Aik Sai
  • Published in Mon State

Aik Sai — Less than half of registered voters in Ye Township, Mon State cast their ballots in the recent election. Only 81,719 out of 168,826 eligible voters took part in the historic day, according to information obtained from the Ye Township Election Sub-Commission office.

A total of 110 polling stations, including 9 polling stations for military personnel and their families, were opened in the 40 village tracts in the township.

Dr. Aung Tun Khine, National League for Democracy (NLD), won the Lower House seat; U Myo Win, NLD, won for Upper House Constituency No 8; U Naing Thiha, Mon National Party (MNP), took Upper House Constituency No 7; Dr. Min Soe Linn, MNP, won State Parliament No 1; and U Chit Tin, NLD, took State Parliament No 2.

Including the NLD, a total of 22 candidates from Union Solidarity and Development Party, National Unity Party, MNP and All Mon Region Democracy Party ran in the election.

Translated by Thida Linn
Edited by BNI staff